Major Life Milestone: 20-Year Anniversary (Platinum Edition)

This will definitely age me, but a very special day is coming for me next week: my 20-year wedding anniversary. Yes, friends, this girl has been married for 20 years; I’ve spent over half my life with my husband Chris, who is my very best friend in the world. I can at least say when people discover the length of time we have been married, they assume I was 10 or  12 years old when we exchanged vows, so that’s an uber-compliment right there.

I love being able to say that we met before internet was mainstream. In fact, we were pen pals on different coasts (he lived on the West Coast and I was on the East Coast). What are these “letters” you ask? They involved pen, paper, an envelope and a stamp. Such an antiquated means of communication! Yet, to this day, I still have all the letters we wrote to one another in a shoebox.

I feel like this day will be a huge milestone for me. More than running milestones or career milestones, but standing the test of time through good times and bad, and as the years pass we fell more and more in love and sync with one another, and we know each other so incredibly well that we can literally read each other’s thoughts and finish each other’s sentences. Fights rarely happen, and when they do, they are a learning experience and we simply add the stone to strengthen the foundation of our marriage. Don’t misunderstand me, it’s never been a perfect fairytale life whatsoever, but it’s been a wonderful journey together. We’ve grown, changed, evolved, and became better people just by being together.

I am so thankful for every morning I am able to wake up with him warm and breathing next to me. He’s cheated death many times in our relationship, from cancer to almost being killed by a drunk driver. And yet, he is still with me, he’s meant to be with me, there’s a reason for his being by my side. And for that I am eternally grateful. I know it won’t last forever, but dammit, I am making sure every single day with him counts, and treat it like it will be my last with him. I never leave the house without saying “I love you”, because I never know if that will be the last thing I say to him, so it may as well be the simplest and most important statement you can convey…just three little words that could possibly last an eternity.

Sweetie, thank you so much for your love and support over the years we’ve been together. You’ve stood in the heat, wind and rain to spectate my marathons, you have brought me so much affection and laughter, you’ve never stopped supporting me with all of your heart. You say at least once a day that you’re the luckiest husband in the world, and that I’m the best wife in the world, and I know that you absolutely mean it. Thanks for always making me laugh, cheering me up after a bad day, and helping to push me forward when I felt like I couldn’t run another step. I couldn’t ask for a better soulmate in my life, sometimes I think we know one another better than we know ourselves. Thank you for your patience, kindness, love, sense of humor…and for helping to shape me into the person I am today.

Here’s to 20 more years together…Toasting Champagne Flutes Png Champagne bott

Leave a Reply

